Priority Areas

• Chitwan-Annapurna Landscape (CHAL).

It’s our main objective to preserve the biodiversity in Chitwan-Annapurna Landscape(CHAL) which is bounded by the Gandaki river basin and contains seven major sub-river basins i.e. Trishuli, Marsyandi, Seti, Kali Gandaki, Budhi Gandaki, Rapti, and Narayani. Most of the endangered species like snow leopard, red panda, and Himalayan black bear live in these particular and it in one of the important transit route for migrating birds.

• Sacred Himalayan Landscape and Eastern Himalayas.

Embedded within the SHL are 14 protected areas; four in Nepal and 10 in India (Sikkim and Darjeeling). The SHL is also contiguous with one of the largest protected areas in Asia, the vast Qomolangma Nature Preserve in Tibet (China). The Sacred Himalayan Landscape aims to conserve the rich biodiversity and enhance local livelihood needs and sustain diverse cultures and traditions in the globally important Eastern Himalayan Region.

• All National Parks , conservation areas and wildlife reserves in Nepal.

The regions or zones of land and rivers that are reserved for the purpose of conserving nature and biodiversity is known as protected areas. Nepal is considered as one of the rich country in the field of biodiversity and there are 12 national parks, 2 wildlife reserves, 6 conservation areas and 1 hunting reserves. These protected areas covers nearly all regions of Nepal i.e. Terai, Hilly, and Mountain region.

• Terai Arc Landscape.

Nepal has been formally protecting its rich biodiversity for more than five decades. The Terai Arc Landscape globally important biodiversity of the Terai-Duar Savanna and Grasslands ecoregion. It adopts a landscape-level approach to conserve several of Asia’s large mammals, birds, reptiles, and freshwater fishes; sustain environmental flows that maintain important ecosystems; and provides ecosystem services that support the socio-economic well-being of people and development in the Terai and Churia region of Nepal.

• Hindu Kush Himalaya range in Nepal.

The Hindu Kush Himalaya covers the huge area of 3500km across some part of the Indian sub-continent and the mountain territories peaks of Afghanistan, Pakistan, India, Nepal, China, Bhutan, Bangladesh, and Myanmar lies in these ranges. The region is characterized by extremes of altitude, relief, and climate. The strongly seasonal nature of the region’s climate results in an over-abundance of water in many areas during the wet, monsoon season and a scarcity of water in the dry season.